NFL Long Term Care Deadline extended to December 30, 2011

If you have not submitted an application for the NFL Long Term Care Insurance program provided by Transamerica  please do so as soon as possible. The window to apply for this benefit has been extended to Friday, December 30, 2011. 

New York was recently approved for this LTC program, so former players residing in that state have until January 30, 2012 to submit an application.   

I should note that New York, Colorado, Washington and Minnesota have a paper only application process.  This means you cannot do an online application.  You will have to call Transamerica and get the application mailed to you and then send it back. 

When the NFL Alumni first began petitioning both the union and league in October 2010 for a long term health insurance benefit, George Martin along with other alumni including Mike Ditka and Mike Haynes instituted a letter writing campaign, visits to Congress, and public awareness in support of long term health insurance benefits.

When told of the NFL’s decision to fund the program, Mr. Martin said “I’m excited that after years of neglect, the NFL has responded by instituting a well-deserved benefit for retired players. However, this is only a small fraction of the solutions needed to address retired player issues. I am grateful the NFL made this gesture, yet disappointed the NFLPA was not a part of this agreement.”

Even though they did not partner with the NFL on this benefit, I am calling on the NFLPA to help us get this LTC deadline information out to all its members as soon as possible. Any problems or issues they may have had with the NFL Alumni Association need to be set aside so that we can all do what is in the best interest of former players.    

I spoke to a Transamerica representative who told me that over 1,000 eligible former players have not submitted an application. If you miss the deadline you will not have another opportunity to apply until next year, around this same time.  The representative also told me that it will be more difficult for players that miss the original deadline to qualify at a later date, because they will have to go through a much tougher underwriting process. 

Do yourself, and more importantly, your family, a big favor, and make every effort to obtain this coverage before the deadline. To date, 1,642 former players and spouses have taken advantage of this opportunity and have been approved for the NFL’s Long Term Care insurance program. 

As I said in a previous article, we don’t know what the future holds for us. In the blink of an eye, we could be incapacitated by an accident or ailment. If we don’t have the proper insurance, our family’s financial security could be put in jeopardy. For those players that have been approved for this coverage, it is good to know that you have a policy in place that will assist you with the financial burden of in-home care and out-of-home residential nursing care.

If you are vested former player between the ages 50 and 75 and want to apply, or you would like more information about the NFL Long Term Care insurance program offered through Transamerica, please contact them at this toll free number: 1-800-260-7512

About Jeff Nixon

Jeff was a first team consensus All-American from the University of Richmond in 1978. He is 7th in NCAA history with 23 career interceptions. Played for the Buffalo Bills 1979-1984. Led the team with 6 interceptions in Rookie Year. Holds Bills record for 4 takeaways in a single game - 3 interceptions and a fumble recovery. Tied Bills record with four consecutive games with an interception. After 5 knee surgeries Jeff retired from pro football in 1985. He worked for 13 years (1988-2000) as the Youth Bureau Director for Buffalo and Erie County. He has worked for the past 11 years as the Youth Employment Director for Buffalo. Plays guitar and was voted best R&B guitar player by Buffalo Nightlife Magazine in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in NFL Alumni News. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. John Griffin--LA Rams & Denver Broncos

    Why waste time in doing this seeing that they turn down the ones of us that will need it the most. This is just another sham as far as I am concerned.

  2. Long Term Care… awesome… oh … wait.. I’m 45yo… I dont qualify… 50yo+ to be eligible…. another swing and a miss… why is it that I cant get what I need most…. again… I suppose I might take responsibility for “not managing my money”… that $40K base salary 1987 was a whopper! not to mention the $315 in ’92… oh yea, thats “gross” not “net”…

    Sorry, Drew Brees was right, should’ve managed my “empire wealth”… lifetime money…

    god bless and happy holidays gentlemen… Old School…
    P.S. Tell the QB’s to keep the “Yellow” practice jersey’s on during the game.

  3. I just filled out the paper work and am getting ready for the telephone interview! I’m waiting for this experience! I’ll be glad to share this with my brothers in Retirement! Any words of wisdom for this exercise!
    Lou Piccone
    Jets 74-76
    Bills 77-83

    • John Griffin--LA Rams & Denver Broncos

      Don’t tell them that you have any physical or mental issues! Ha ha ha. I was declined I guess because I have diabetes and once last year my heart went into A fib.

      Good luck,

      John Griffin
      LA Rams 63-64
      Denver Broncos 64-68

  4. The Lou I know (or knew) should do well–just don’t stay up late studying for the mental tests ..Dave Hale, I was approved! Go Bears!

  5. If you have football injuries, you must lie or you will be denied.I have a replaced hip, 2 carpal tunal surgeries, 3 knee surgeries on my left knee; and I was told to replace both knees. I have a pin in my right radius and 3 dislocations of my left shoulder. I presently walk on atreadmill every other day 46 mins to an hour @3.5mph, plus 5 upper body weight exercises; and 20 mins and 36 20yd laps of walking in a pool every other day

  6. Roy Jefferson I WAS DENIED

    I WAS DENIED/ I walk 1.25-2 miles a day on a treadmill and do 5 upper body weight drills every other day. I also walk 20 mins and 36 20 yd laps in a pool every other day. I had 3 left knee eoperations(’76,’86’88, 1 hip replacement(4 mos ago)Iam scheduled for 2 knee replacements/I had 3 left shoulder dislocations,pin in my rt radius.I have Graves desease,and will be taken off my medicine shortly. I beat it. I WAS DENIED

  7. So what you are saying is, that if I had a fib, I couldn’t be approved. Why should I waste my time? Are there any disqualifying things I should know before I go through this?

    • John Griffin--LA Rams & Denver Broncos

      each case is considered on its own, go ahead and apply because you never know, they could approve you. If you get approved please let me know.

  8. Rodney Breedlove

    To Roy Jefferson, same thing with my father Rod Breedlove.. Prior to 2009, carpal tunnel surgeries, hip replacements, a knee, etc. 2009 into hospital for neck surgery and developed infections. To make a long story short went from not knowing family, what year etc and told may never be able to walk again or live by himself. He does all of that now without the aid of any equipment and is able to drive again without any vehicle adaptations and in November 2011 we traveled to Cumberland MD to his High School Homecoming Game where he was honored during halftime, and ran yes ran 30 yards. Wonder how many applications were actually approved.!!!!!!

