Cardiovascular screening for former NFL players

About Jeff Nixon

Jeff was a first team consensus All-American from the University of Richmond in 1978. He is 7th in NCAA history with 23 career interceptions. Played for the Buffalo Bills 1979-1984. Led the team with 6 interceptions in Rookie Year. Holds Bills record for 4 takeaways in a single game - 3 interceptions and a fumble recovery. Tied Bills record with four consecutive games with an interception. After 5 knee surgeries Jeff retired from pro football in 1985. He worked for 13 years (1988-2000) as the Youth Bureau Director for Buffalo and Erie County. He has worked for the past 11 years as the Youth Employment Director for Buffalo. Plays guitar and was voted best R&B guitar player by Buffalo Nightlife Magazine in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in NFL Alumni News. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. BRIAN GLASGOW

    As a 17 year Executive Board Member of the NFLPA-Chicago Chapter and a new NFL Alumni Member I would like to thank the NFL Alumni Chicago Chapter for sharing this rare opportunity with all former Chicago Football Players. Archie and the Living Heart Foundation’s program is truely one of the most beneficial tangible benefits we enjoy as vested or non-vested former players. Dozens of Chicago’s former players recieved immeasurable value through this proactive program.

  2. All of you must do this. My GP said the exam and 17 page report was one of the most detailed reports possible and would cost thousands to duplicate. We all know one of our great ones here in NY who ignored the opportunity and died of a heart attack 6 months later of a heart attack from a condition that likely would have been detected by the exam. Frankly, it is the only benefit that I have recieved from the NFL for my 3 years of duty,including my robotic knees,concussions, etc.

  3. Will this opportunity ever travel down south? I am struggling financially, waiting for social security, and i haven’t worked in over nine months. I know that this is a wonderful chance to have such a procedure done. We all need to be checked before it is too late. I think we take for granted the nice bodies that we had to develope to stay on a team. We get so banged up that we have to keep looking for that hit fix. Whether it be jumping out of planes or bungy jumping, we need that rush. Don’t let the rush get you. Get a check-up. I dedicate this to one of my former teammates Dave D.

    • James:

      Sorry it took me so long to get back to you on this screening program. I have asked Dr. Roberts to let me know if they have anything scehduled anything in the Southern States. I’ll let you know when he gets back to me.

      Jeff Nixon

